The Global Economic Governance (GEG) Africa programme is a policy research and stakeholder engagement programme to strengthen the influence of pro-poor African coalitions at global economic governance fora.

Among other things, the declaration seeks to support the co-ordinating process for the BRICS Network University, as well as reaffirm the commitment to the UN's Sustainable Development Goal Four, which aims to “ensure inclusive and equitable education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all”.

  • Heads of State and Government Summit, 18-19 July 2018.

  • Location Lusaka, Zambia
  • Open Government Partnership Global Summit 2018, 17-19 July 2018.

  • Location Tbilisi, Georgia
  • Informal Open-ended Negotiating Group on Rules (Fisheries Subsidies), 23 July 2018

  • Location Geneva, Switzerland
  • Fourth Meeting of Finance and Central Bank Deputies, 19-20 July 2018, Buenos Aires
  • Third Meeting of Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors, 21-22 July 2018, Buenos Aires
  • Meeting of BRICS Finance Deputies, 19-22 July 2018, Buenos Aries, Argentina
  • Meeting of the BRICS National Security Advisors, 19-20 July 2018, Nelspruit, South Africa
  • Annual Meeting of the BRICS Business Council, 22-23 July 2018, Durban, South Africa
  • Fourth BRICS Sherpa/Sous-Sherpa Meeting, 20-24 July 2018, Johannesburg, South Africa
  • The 10th BRICS Summit, 25-27 July 2018, Sandton, South Africa
  • Eighth Meeting of the BRICS Ministers of Health, 29 July 2018, Durban, South Africa
  • BRICS Science Technology and Innovation Women’s Forum, 2-3 August 2018, Gauteng
  • BRICS STI Women’s Forum, 2-3 August 2018, Gauteng, South Africa

The theme is: ‘BRICS in Africa: collaboration for inclusive growth and shared prosperity in the Fourth Industrial Revolution’

GEGAfrica Discussion Paper, July 2018

GEGAfrica Policy Briefing, July 2018

The summit reaffirmed the importance of the regional integration agenda that promotes economic integration, industrialisation and economic diversification of the SACU economies. The sixth Summit of the Heads of State or Government of the union was held on 29 June 2018 in Gaborone, Botswana.

South Africa has signed the African Free Trade Area agreement with the African Union, which will pave the way for the country to benefit from inter-regional trade on the continent. “South Africa remains committed to a co-ordinated strategy to boost intra-Africa trade and to build an integrated market in Africa that will see a market of more than one billion people and approximately $3.3-trillion in GDP,” said President Cyril Ramaphosa.

Click the button below to receive email updates any time new GEG Africa material is posted. (Or click here to subscribe to the quarterly GEG Africa newsletter).